top of page

Module Summary

I started this module exploring the theme of endangered animals, by using my passions and interests in saving endangered animals from becoming extinct. I used mainly the internet to get photographs that other people took of the animals and because painting them, however, I wish I could've gone to a zoo and took my own photographs of certain animals like Zebras, and Elephants. I, however, did go to a place called Preston Park. which has a butterfly world which is essentially a giant greenhouse which protects butterflies from getting killed in the wild, which I managed to get some decent photographs. I mainly only used acrylic paint as I found that oil paints were too messy for my liking. I, however, realised that I did not want to do realistic easy to interpret artwork of the endangered animals, which then lead me onto working with the patterns on an endangered animal, and repetition which I grew a love for. I realised that I really liked seeing my drawings, being photocopied then sent to a computer to be worked with on photoshop as I could see my artwork being made into a more photographic piece of work. I also made a film with the work I did on photoshop with the repeated zebras, which I did in a more psychedelic way as I wanted a film which people could not ignore when walking in an exhibition as it lures you in with the trippy transitions. Towards the end of the project, I began to realise that I wanted to create artwork which has a slight sense of realism to it with the endangered animals, as well as abstract with the animal prints. I wish I had of experimented with sculpture, but felt like I should not do it as I've not had pleasant experiences with it in the past. I really enjoyed this project as it was really out of my comfort zone since I'm used to doing human faces compared to animal faces and patterns.


bottom of page