top of page

Judith Mackay


Within my new project I have been exploring the themes of endangered animals, as it has a close and personal impact on my life, I find it so interesting that animals are one by one becoming extinct and we as humans can easily prevent it, but there's no research etc, being done for it, and due to this there is a very small amount of artist who explores this theme as there is not enough research done about it. whilst looking for artists to find inspiration on I found Judith Mackay, who I strongly believe is representing the theme is such a unique and positive way, and also has very impactful meanings within her work. I thoroughly enjoy that she doesn't reinforce that the animals are endangered and make the audience question her work, and for that, I want to create a similar effect. I don't think art should have a clear meaning as to what it is about as it will not engage the audience, whereas if you have a simple painting of an animal the audience will engage and question why that specific animal was chosen and whats the undying meaning of the painting. I believe this will give the painting the meaning and effect that I am looking for within my paintings and art pieces.

bottom of page